Mechanical Engineering Faculty Form the AMP3 Consortium on $3M DOE Grant

Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Hyung D. Bae, Professor Gbadebo Moses Owolabi, and Associate Professor Grant Warner were awarded $750K from a $3M grant by the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration (DOE-NNSA) to form the Consortium for Additive Manufacturing Post-Processing Partnership (AMP3). The AMP3 consortium will partner with three DOE-NNSA facilities: Kansas City National Security Campus, Oakridge National Laboratory, and the Y-12 National Security Complex. Along with Howard University, members of the AMP3 consortium are the University of the District of Columbia, Morgan State University and Lincoln University. Dr. Warner serves as the Principal Investigator for Howard University.

“The AMP3 consortium will provide research and training opportunities for Howard students in emerging areas of additive manufacturing. The presence of Department of Energy labs and plants in the consortium will ensure that students not only have access to amazing internship and employment opportunities but will also have access to a broad network of researchers who are tackling industry’s most pressing problems. We look forward to continuing to grow this partnership,” says Dr. Warner.

The focus of the partnership will be on solving high impact technical problems in additive manufacturing (or 3D printing). The goal of the partnership will be to establish a pipeline for a specialized skilled workforce. Key objectives include:

1) Recruit and attract undergraduate, graduate, and post-doctoral trainees who actively pursue STEM careers in additive manufacturing (AM) and other disciplines relevant to the DOE-NNSA mission;

2) Create rich experiences for trainees in AM and associated fields through coursework, extracurricular opportunities, and internships that develop them into highly qualified candidates for advanced degrees and careers in STEM;

3) Leverage synergies between HBCUs that enable cutting-edge research collaborations in AM; and

4) Create partnerships with DOE-NNSA facilities that advance Historically Black College/University (HBCU) research capacity in AM.

AMP3 is the result of an effective collaboration between HBCUs and DOE-NNSA facilities and industry partners that started in 2013. The AMP3 consortium will build on the foundation developed during the first Consortium for Additive Manufacturing (CAM) funded by DOE-NNSA from 2015 to 2018.


Oluwade Receives Tau Beta Pi Fellowship Award

Tue, May 19, 2020

Abimbola Oluwade, a 2020 mechanical engineering graduate, has been awarded a graduate fellowship from Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honor society. Oluwade will receive a cash stipend of $10,000 to pursue graduate studies in mechanical engineering. Oluwade plans to obtain his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering with a concentration in fluid mechanics and thermal processes. Tau Beta Pi Fellowships are awarded on the basis of high scholarship, campus leadership and service, and promise of future contributions to the engineering profession.Read More >>

Student Speaker Melissa Douglas Receives 2020 BEYA Student Leadership Award

Fri, May 15, 2020

Mechanical engineering graduate Melissa Douglas will serve as the student speaker for the 2020 College of Engineering and Architecture (CEA) Awards and Recognition Ceremony. This spring, Douglas received a 2020 BEYA Student Leadership Award for her outstanding leadership as president of both the DC Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, and the Howard University chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Read More >>


No Events