The Department of Mechanical Engineering shares the same policy for admission with the entire School of Engineering and Computer Science. The admission policy is as follows:

Undergraduate Program Admission

Prospective students should submit an application, an official transcript of the secondary school record and character recommendations from the school principal or counselor. An applicant must be a graduate of a secondary school or have equivalent credentials. The secondary school program should consist of at least 15 units including the following minimum units: English, 3; algebra, 2; geometry, 1; trigonometry, 1; history, or civics, 1; and science, 2. A unit represents one year of study in any subject in a secondary school.

Applicants must furnish the results of the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT I and II in Mathematics). Admission is based on an evaluation of the academic record, test scores and letters of recommendation. Transfer students must have completed at least 12 semester hours of course work including mathematics and science. International applicants must submit a transcript of all work taken at other institutions (secondary and collegiate) and must pass the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with a cumulative score of 550 or better.

Department of Mechanical Engineering
College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences
Howard University
2300 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059

Phone: (202) 806-6600
Fax: (202) 483-1396


Mechanical Engineering Professor Emmanuel Glakpe Named ASME Fellow

Fri, August 25, 2017

Mechanical Engineering Professor Emmanuel Glakpe elected Fellow of ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) in April 2017, after being nominated by Mechanical Engineering Department Chair Nadir Yilmaz. Dr. Glakpe’s nomination was supported by ASME Fellows from within academia, industry and government positions.Read More >>

Mechanical Engineering Department Chair Nadir Yilmaz Named SAE International Fellow

Fri, August 25, 2017

SAE International announced that Mechanical Engineering Department Chair Nadir Yilmaz was elected as a 2016-2017 SAE Fellow. Dr. Yilmaz was recognized during ceremonies at the WCX 17: SAE World Congress Experience in Detroit, Michigan on April 11, 2017.Read More >>


No Events